Writing a Novel

A few months ago I bought a book that taught me a lot of things. My life has literally changed since then. I changed. I can look at problems from different angles, I became somewhat braver and I’m not afraid to start learning photography or drawing (my newest “craziness”). I’m not afraid to think that what I do, might be good or will be good eventually. I believe that I can be creative and I have the right to be and I’m not less than others.

I started to plan my first ever novel (mostly to challenge myself). I have the characters and I developed the storyline which by the end transformed into a psycho-thriller which genre I never read and probably never would. (And the golden rule is: write what you read the most.)

I decided to write it in Hungarian even though the names are in English. I thought that some day I might translate it but because of my poor English I’d better start it in my mother tongue. Yesterday I opened a new page in Open Office:

First line: CHAPTER ONE     –     instead of ELSŐ FEJEZET

Second line: Faye’s scream filled the room.     –     instead of: Faye sikolya töltötte meg a szobát.

With all the newly gained wisdom I have no idea what to do. I was considering to replan the story or I can just mess with the genre borders.

And the thing about the language.. if it comes in English, what can I do? I wanted a challenge, didn’t I?

6 thoughts on “Writing a Novel

  1. The trick is not to put it in a genre, or let it be limited by genre, just let the story tell itself. When you write “The End” you can decide which genre it belongs to 🙂

    ps. töltötte sounds like a Finnish word 🙂

    • oh yeah I can’t wait to finish with it.. 😀 I have already two paragraphs! …around 300 words… I think I should try that kamikaze writing thing what you said.. 😀

  2. I believe that if you’re meant to do something, you’ll end up doing it someday. You may take awhile to get there, to reach your destination but eventually if it’s meant to be yours, destiny will eventually catch up with you.

Leave a Reply

